Joule heating in a high-voltage conductor

Our customer had a problem: Series production was already running when they discovered that part of a conductor was fatiguing under certain conditions and could eventually break. This would result in outages and customer complaints, which of course they wanted to avoid.

Experiments and the experience of the designers had brought no measurable improvements, in as far as the observed outages did not seem to correlate with typical measured variables such as maximum current and static distribution of current peaks.

We were asked to create a “Joule heating” model using COMSOL Multiphysics, which calculated the current conductor with the power dissipation and thermal conduction across the entire component.

COMSOL Multiphysics permits measured data to be coupled to the finite element model as boundary conditions, so we were able to create a time series “time versus temperature” from the time series “time versus current”. This could in turn be used to calculate voltages which, using the Coffin-Manson relation, permitted predictions to be made regarding the expected lifetime depending on the current loading.

So that our customer could also work with the model by themselves in future, we put together a COMSOL Multiphysics Tutorial for them as well, where we passed on our tips and tricks.

Sicherung_T_1

Joulesche Erwärmung in einem Hochvolt-Stromleiter

Unser Kunde hatte ein Problem: Die Serienproduktion lief bereits als er feststellte, dass ein Teil eines Stromleiters unter bestimmten Bedingungen ermüden und letztendlich brechen könnte. Dies würde Ausfälle und Kundenbeschwerden nach sich ziehen, die er natürlich vermeiden wollte.

Experimente und die Erfahrung der Konstrukteure hatten keine messbaren Verbesserungen gebracht, zumal die beobachteten Ausfälle scheinbar nicht mit typischen Messgrößen wie Maximalstrom und statische Verteilung der Strompeaks korrelierte.

Wir wurden gebeten mit COMSOL Multiphysics ein „Joule Heating“-Modell aufzubauen, das die Stromleitung mit der Verlustleistung und der Wärmeleitung im Gesamtbauteil berechnet.

COMSOL Multiphysics erlaubte Messdaten als Randbedingungen an das Finite Elemente-Modell anzukoppeln, so dass wir aus der Zeitreihe „Zeit vs. Strom“ eine Zeitreihe „Zeit vs. Temperatur“ erzeugen konnten. Damit wiederum konnten Spannungen errechnet werden, die mit Hilfe eines Coffin-Manson-Ansatzes Vorhersagen über die zu erwartende Lebensdauer in Abhängigkeit der Strombelastung erlaubte.

Damit unser Kunde auch in Zukunft selbst mit dem Modell arbeiten kann, haben wir für ihn zusätzlich ein COMSOL Mulitphysics Tutorial erstellt, in dem wir ihm unsere Tipps und Tricks weitergegeben haben.

Sicherung_T_1