Calculation of Cable Diameter

Our customer required a cable system to connect several electrical subsystems. Their supplier had given them a quote based on the specification. This was too expensive due to requirements “from above”.

The standard approach for reducing cable costs is to reduce the diameter and therefore the mass of copper. Technically this is only possible if:

  • The maximum temperature is increased
  • The safety factors are reduced
  • The external cooling is improved
  • By considering the maximum period of current loading, it was shown that the temperature peak was not reached.

The standard “IEC 60287-3 Electric cables” only gives very imprecise specifications on this.

Wenger Engineering GmbH was asked to carry out simulations of the load profile and the heat transferred due to the real installation situation. It was still important to reliably adhere to the specifications in IEC 60287-3.

We implemented all the properties and boundary conditions in COMSOL Multiphysics, coupled the current-time series to the partial differential equation system and calculated the cases through.

The result was that, under these special conditions, the ampacity of the cable could be increased by almost 20% with regard to IEC 60287-3. To put it another way: Thanks to focused consideration and calculation, the specific costs could be reduced by almost 20% – calculated across the whole project this resulted in a saving of millions of euros.

 

2012-09-04_EP_dreiadrig_Temp

Kabelquerschnitt berechnen

Unser Kunde benötigte ein Kabelsystem, um mehrere elektrische Teilsysteme zu verbinden. Sein Lieferant hatte ihm aufgrund der Spezifikation ein Angebot unterbreitet. Um sicher zu sein, das optimale Angebot auszuwählen, entschied sich unser Kunde, den Kabelquerschnitt berechnen zu lassen. Mit Comsol Multiphysics. Unter realen Einbaubedingungen.

Der Standardansatz zum Reduzieren von Kosten bei Kabeln lautet, den Durchmesser und damit die Kupfermasse zu reduzieren. Technisch geht das jedoch nur, wenn:

  • Die Maximaltemperatur erhöht wird
  • Die Sicherheitsfaktoren reduziert werden
  • Die Kühlung von außen verbessert wird
  • Durch Überlegungen zur maximalen Dauer der Strombelastung nachgewiesen wird, dass der Temperaturpeak nicht erreicht wird.

Die Norm “IEC 60287-3 Auslegung von Kabeln“ macht hierzu nur sehr ungenaue Angaben.

Unser Kunde beauftragte uns, Simulationen des Lastgangs und der Wärmeübertragung aufgrund der realen Einbausituationen durchzuführen um so den erforderlichen Kabelquerschnitt berechnen zu können. Es galt dennoch, die Vorgaben der IEC 60287-3 zuverlässig einzuhalten.

Wir implementierten sämtliche Eigenschaften und Randbedingungen in COMSOL Multiphysics, koppelten die Strom-Zeitreihe an das Partielle Differentialgleichungssystem und rechneten die Fälle durch.

Als Ergebnis konnten wir unter diesen besonderen Bedingungen den erforderlichen Kabelquerschnitt gegenüber der IEC 60287-3 um fast 20% senken. Anders formuliert: Es gelang uns, die Kosten für den Kunden um fast 20% zu senken – auf das Gesamtprojekt gerechnet mehrere Millionen Euro.

2012-09-04_EP_dreiadrig_Temp