Heat exchanger

Optimizing heat exchangers of all kinds is the core of our core business. The typical question of our customers is: “How can I increase the heat transfer performance and reduce the pressure loss at the same time?” This is particularly interesting for very complex or modular heat exchanger systems, because our customer wants to be able to reduce the investment costs per kW this way.

In the example shown – which has of course been anonymized for reasons of confidentiality – the customer wanted to increase the heat transfer coefficient of the water using appropriate geometric optimization. The goal was a 10% increase in performance with an acceptable pressure loss. The benefits are obvious: For a special application around 50 modules are connected in series. If the 10% optimization is successful, 5 modules per unit could be saved in future – resulting in annual cost savings for the customer of several tens of thousands of euros.

All the same it was a tricky task: Due to the low flow speed and the requirements for maximum pressure loss, there were only a few degrees of freedom available for the optimization.

For reasons of confidentiality, we are not able to describe our solution in detail here. We appreciate your understanding in this matter. That we were able to present them with a more than satisfactory solution for them, goes without saying.
Temperatur_iso_stream_Legende_01

Wärmetauscher

Wärmetauscher aller Art zu optimieren ist der Kern unseres Kerngeschäfts. Die typische Frage unserer Kunden lautet: „Wie kann ich die Wärmeübertragungsleistung erhöhen und gleichzeitig den Druckverlust senken?“ Insbesondere bei sehr komplexen oder modularen Wärmetauscher-Systemen ist dies interessant, da unsere Kunden so die Investitionskosten pro kW senken können.

Im dargestellten – aber aus Vertraulichkeitsgründen natürlich verfremdeten – Beispiel wollte der Kunde durch geeignete geometrische Optimierung den wasserseitigen Wärmeübergangskoeffizienten erhöhen. Das Ziel war eine 10-prozentige Erhöhung der Leistung bei vertretbarem Druckverlust. Der Nutzen lag auf der Hand: für eine Spezialanwendung werden etwa 50 Module in Reihe geschaltet. Gelingt die 10-prozentige Optimierung, können in Zukunft pro Anlage 5 Module eingespart werden – was dem Kunden mehrere zehn tausend Euro Kosteneinsparung pro Jahr bringt.

Dennoch war die Aufgabe knifflig: durch die geringe Fließgeschwindigkeit und die Anforderungen an den maximalen Druckverlust standen nur wenige Freiheitsgrade für die Optimierung zur Verfügung.

Aus Vertraulichkeitsgründen dürfen wir hier den Lösungsweg nicht im Detail beschreiben. Wir bitten Sie dafür um Verständnis. Dass wir ihm eine für ihn mehr als zufriedenstellende Lösung präsentieren konnten, versteht sich von selbst.

Temperatur_iso_stream_Legende_01